skip navigation

Haverford School Retains Heyward Cup for 17th Time

08/22/2017, 2:45pm EDT
By PSD Staff

HAVERFORD, PA- The Haverford School retained the Inter-Academic League’s Heyward Cup for an unprecedented 17th time – the most of any Inter-Ac school thus far. The cup is awarded annually to the school that accumulates the most points based on its league standing in all Inter-Ac sports throughout the three seasons. During the 2016-17 school year, the Fords won Inter-Ac championships in cross-country, squash (undefeated), swimming and diving (undefeated), lacrosse, and tennis (undefeated). Other highlights from the year: crew rowed in the Henley Royal Regatta in England, squash won its first high school national title, hockey defeated Germantown Academy for the Independence Hockey League Championship, two wrestlers placed at National Preps, the 4x100 relay team set a new school record and the 4x400 relay team took first place at the Inter-Ac Championship meet, and Alex Boratto was named All-Delco Boys Swimmer of the Year for the second-consecutive time.

(From left) senior captains of The Haverford School’s championship teams with the Heyward Cup: (front row, from left) Duncan Joyce, John Nostrant, Nick Magnani, and Anthony Calvelli; (middle row) Bill Wu, Will McDevitt, Chris Hervada, Will Glaser, and Ros

Recipients of The Ben Heyward Memorial All Sports Trophy of the Inter-Academic League of Philadelphia and Vicinity since its inception in 1973:


17 The Haverford School (’75, ’76, ’77, ’78, ’80, ’89, ’94, ’00, ’05, ’06, ’09, ’10, ’11, ’13, ’15, ’16, ’17)

11 Episcopal Academy (’73, ’74, ’79, ’82, ’87, ’92, ’93, ’96, ’97, ’98, ’99)

8  (William) Penn Charter (’81, ’83, ’84, ’86, ’88, ’90, ’91, ’95)

4  Germantown Academy (’85, ’02, ’03, ’04)

5  Malvern Prep (’01, ’07, ’08, ’12, ’14)


Tag(s): Home  Schools  Inter Academic League  Haverford Swimming  Haverford Tennis  Haverford Cross Country  Crew   Haverford Lacrosse